Regional Happenings (Page 2)

Regional Happenings (Page 2)

Coming soon…

Yearbook and Directory Online for 2010 – ALEX Training Set to Start

Alex is a database that will be shared by the whole Church. General Minister and President Terri Hord Owens set this as an objective early in her tenure, knowing from her earlier experience in corporate settings that business intelligence (data) is key to making informed decisions. Alex will position Disciples to finally have a real-time directory and picture of churchwide trends that has been impossible with the current yearbook system. This work is only possible if we have good data. The Alex database will draw in select data from our current yearbook legacy system and the financial database maintained by Treasury Services. Congregations and regions can spot trends in real-time. Congregations will update their contact and staff information in real-time for submission to the regions for verification before pushing it out to the existing databases housed in general ministries. A single e-mail and password will be assigned to your congregation. Each congregation will have just one e-mail address/password combination shared among the pastor, administrative assistant, and whoever is designated to enter attendance and/or financial data. This username and password can be changed by your congregation as staff changes. The warehouse can be accessed on the web via a computer or mobile device. Once a year, a snapshot of all data will be taken for historical records (like the yearbook does now). Alex, however, will allow for an online interface that will be updated in real-time. Your congregation will be able to submit staff changes, address or select other information as changes occur, and your region and the general ministries will get the information in real-time. An added benefit of Alex (the database) is that your giving to Disciples Mission Fund and the special offerings will be updated by Treasury Services so you will have accurate records of your tithing to the whole Church each month. (No more digging for the Easter and Week of Compassion totals in January the next year!) Please have the person(s) in charge of preparing and submitting your congregation’s annual Yearbook and Directory information to the General office attend one (or more) of these introductory sessions. Pastors are also encouraged to attend the training to become familiar with the new system for processing congregational data. Please use this link to register for one of the training dates for ALEX. https://disciples.org/alex/training-for-alex-database/ For FAQs: https://disciples.org/alex/alex-faqs/ Date and time link Tuesday, Jan. 5, 10 am PST/1 pm EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 5, 7 pm PST/10 pm EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 12, 10 am MT/noon EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 12, 7 pm MT/9 pm EST Join Thursday, Jan. 14, 2 pm PST/5 pm EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 19, 10 am CST/11 am EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 19, 7 pm CST/8 pm EST Join Thursday, Jan. 21, 2 pm MT/4 pm EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 26, 10 am EST Join Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2 pm EST Join Thursday, Jan. 28, 2 pm CST/3 pm EST Join Thursday, Feb. 4, 2 pm EST Join Download a copy of the yearbook instructions.…

Zoom Training Provided by RCC

Thomas Knight, Technical Director at North Spray Christian Church in Eden, NC, will be teaching a class called Zoom Crash Course, at Rockingham Community College, on Tuesday/Thursday, January 26 and 28, from 6:00-8:00 p.m. There will be another class offered on Saturday, February 6, from 8:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. The class will be held virtually on Zoom. Cost for the class is $70. This class is great for all types of users from those just getting started to more advanced users who want to take their Zoom use to the next level to businesses or churches who want to use it for meetings. We are so excited to be able to offer this course with the increased need for virtual meetings during the COVID-19 pandemic. Undoubtedly, virtual meetings are here to stay! Register at https://www.rockinghamcc.edu/admissions/business-technologies today!…

Barton College – Part Three of Light of Life Podcast

Colleagues and Friends, The Barton College Center for Religious Studies is excited to announce that “Part Three” of the three-part Light of Life podcast interview with Dr. Zachary Moon is now available on the Center’s website. In this segment, Dr. Moon reflects further on moral injury, how this becomes an “embodied” experience for veterans, and how the church can serve veterans. Also, check out the new “Three Minute Thought” titled “Winter’s Light.” The segment arose from conversations with Prof. Maureen T. O’Neill, Director of Exhibitions and Educational Programming and Assistant Professor in the art program at Barton College. You can also find her pastel “Winter Trees” accompanying the mini-podcast. “Three Minute Thoughts” explore the spirituality of everyday life. They are released most Thursdays. Follow this link for these audio, and visual, resources: https://www.barton.edu/center-for-religious-studies/at-the-center/ Peace, Rod Werline — Rodney A. Werline, PhD Professor of Religious Studies Marie and Leman Barnhill Endowed Chair in Religious Studies Director, Barton College Center for Religious Studies Program Director, Religion and Philosophy Major Editor, Early Judaism and Its Literature (SBL) Barton College PO Box 5000 Wilson, NC 27893 (m) 336-508-4332…

2020 Christmas Offering

Consider this…Wise men on a long journey from the East, a hostile king nervously searching for the Christ child, and a special star that miraculously kept appearing. How can this story cause rejoicing today? To find out, read the message below from your Regional Minister! Donate today to support our ministries.…

New Podcast Resources from Barton College

The following information is from Rev. Dr. Rodney Werline, Barton College. Please address all questions or inquires to Dr. Werline at rawerline@barton.edu. Friends and Colleagues, The Barton College Center for Religious Studies has released Part Two of the Light of Life series interview with Dr. Zachary Moon on moral injury. Also, the second mini-podcast in the Three Minute Thought series has been released. Title: “Losing a Hero: Roberto Clemente.” Three Minute Thoughts consider the spirituality in our everyday lives. Follow this link: https://www.barton.edu/center-for-religious-studies/at-the-center/ Peace, Rod Werline — Rodney A. Werline, PhD Professor of Religious Studies Marie and Leman Barnhill Endowed Chair in Religious Studies Director, Barton College Center for Religious Studies Program Director, Religion and Philosophy Major Editor, Early Judaism and Its Literature (SBL) Barton College PO Box 5000 Wilson, NC 27893 (m) 336-508-4332…